• 664
  • 664
Thursday, September 24, 2020

2020 CEIBS Faculty Award Recipients Announced

September 24, 2020. Shanghai – CEIBS Vice President and Dean Ding announced today the recipients of this year’s CEIBS Medal for Teaching Excellence and Research Excellence Awards.

CEIBS Medal for Teaching Excellence

Professor Hwang Yuh-Chang is the recipient of 2020 CEIBS Medal for Teaching Excellence. The award aims to recognise full-time faculty who have a sustained and preeminent record of excellence in teaching and learning and an ongoing commitment to educational excellence in teaching at CEIBS. It is the highest award in faculty teaching.

Prof. Hwang Yuh-Chang

Prof. Hwang is a Professor of Accounting and the La Caixa Chair in Accounting at CEIBS. His teaching and research interests include managerial accounting, incentive contracting design, performance measurement and healthcare cost and quality management. He was previously awarded the CEIBS Teaching Excellence Award in 2015.

Prof. Hwang previously served as Secretary/Treasurer of the Accounting Section of the American Accounting Association (2007-2009). He is currently on the editorial board of several leading accounting journals, including The Accounting Review, and has published extensively in academic journals such as Management Science, Review of Accounting Studies, The Accounting Review, Journal of Accounting and Public Policy, Journal of Accounting, and Auditing and Finance.

CEIBS Research Excellence Awards

The recipients of this year’s Research Excellence Award are Professor Zhang Yu and Professor Katherine Xin. The award recognises full-time faculty for their continued commitment to research together with their outstanding and productive research outcomes.


Prof. Zhang is an Associate Professor of Strategy at CEIBS. His teaching interests include strategic management, industry and competitive analysis, business model innovation and competition, and corporate governance. Dr. Zhang’s research focuses on the interaction between strategy and capital markets. His research has been published in top journals such as the Academy of Management Journal, Organization Science and Strategic Management Journal. He has been invited to present his research in leading business schools in Asia, Europe and North America, and to give keynote speeches at leading industrial conferences such as the NACD Spring Forum.

Prof. Xin is a Professor of Management, Bayer Chair in Leadership, Associate Dean (Europe), Co-Director of the Hospitality EMBA Programme, Director of the Leadership Development and Coaching Centre and Director of the Centre for Globalisation of Chinese Companies at CEIBS. She specialises in the areas of leadership, organisational culture, change management, and strategic human resource management. She is currently researching how to develop high-performance cultures and how effective performance management can shape people’s mind-set and behaviour. She is a frequent contributor to academic and executive conferences and journals. Her research work has appeared in the leading international management journals such as the Academy of Management Journal, Administrative Science Quarterly, Strategic Management Journal, Organization Studies, Leadership Quarterly, and other publications.

The awards will be conferred at faculty meeting on October 14, 2020. Congratulations to our faculty on their success in receiving these prestigious awards, and many thanks for their great contributions!

Iris Wan
Michael Donald Thede