• 664
  • 664
Tuesday, September 17, 2019

CEIBS Distinguished Professor Jean-Pierre Raffarin Awarded Medal of Friendship

September 17, 2019. Beijing – Former Prime Minister of France and CEIBS Distinguished Professor Jean-Pierre Raffarin has been named as a recipient of the Medal of Friendship, making him one of 42 recipients of national medals and honorary titles from the Chinese government this month. The awards were voted on during the 13th Session of the 13th National People's Congress Standing Committee and then signed into official order by Chinese President Xi Jinping.

Together with the Medal of the Republic, the Medal of Friendship is one of two national level honours established by the Chinese government in recent years. The Medal of the Republic is awarded to individuals who have made great contributions to the development of socialism with Chinese characteristics, and the preservation of the country. The Medal of Friendship is given to foreigners who have made outstanding contributions to China's modernisation, have engaged in exchange and co-operation between China and the international community and have worked towards the maintenance of world peace. The medal has previously been awarded to Russian President Vladimir Putin and former President of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev.

Prof. Raffarin officially joined CEIBS as a Distinguished Professor in February 2018 and was named as the Charles de Gaulle Chair in Global Leadership in June 2018. His rich experience and knowledge of politics, economy and history, together with his unique teaching methods, have helped CEIBS students to better understand leadership and manage their corporations in a global context. Since then, he has delivered many speeches at the school events around the world, where he has exchanged ideas with Chinese and European professors, students and alumni. Prof. Raffarin has also conducted numerous exchanges on behalf of CEIBS with Shanghai municipal leaders. His efforts have made important contributions to the school’s goal of cultivating responsible leaders, and have further fostered positive ties between China and Europe.

CEIBS President Li Mingjun, CEIBS President (European) Dipak Jain, Vice President and Dean Ding Yuan and Vice President and Co-Dean Zhang Weijiong issued a special letter to Prof. Raffarin, expressing their sincere congratulations on behalf of CEIBS faculty and staff as well as the school’s more than 22,000 alumni. Their letter noted that, as we approach the 70th anniversary of the founding of the People’s Republic of China, Prof. Raffarin is regarded as an important international friend and is the only French citizen to have received the award – one of China’s highest honours. As such, the award is not only a personal one, but is also a great honour for both France and CEIBS. Moreover, as CEIBS this year celebrates its 25th anniversary, Prof. Raffarin’s Medal of Friendship represents a kind of “double happiness” for the school.

Prof. Raffarin served as the Prime Minister of France from 2002 to 2005 and as Vice-Chairman of the French Senate from 2011 to 2014. Throughout his political career, he advocated for reforms in a wide range of areas such as pensions and medical insurance. Mr. Raffarin has participated in numerous international activities and has visited China many times, earning him the distinction of being called “an old friend of the Chinese people”. He is also the Chairman of both the Comité France Chine and the Social Development Innovation Foundation. In 2018, he was appointed by French President Emmanuel Macron as the Special Representative of the French Government in China.