• About CEIBS

    Sign up, follow us and join the conversation on CEIBS Social Media!

    Social Media
  • About CEIBS

    China Depth, Global Breadth

    CEIBS Beijing
  • About CEIBS

    Unmatched China knowledge, proven global expertise

    CEIBS Shanghai
Friday, February 9, 2018

Ceremony Marks New Chair Professorships at CEIBS

February 7, 2018. Shanghai – Three members of CEIBS faculty were today conferred with certificates to mark their recent chair professorships during a ceremony held on the school’s Shanghai campus. Professors Xiande Zhao, S. Ramakrishna Velamuri, and Yuhchang Hwang have been appointed, respectively, as the JD.COM Chair in Operations and Supply Chain Management, the Chengwei Ventures Chair in Entrepreneurship and the La Caixa Chair Professor in Accounting. Prof. Yuhchang Hwang, who was not able to attend in person, joined the event “digitally”.

Today’s ceremony was hosted by CEIBS Vice President and Dean Professor Yuan Ding, and attended by President Professor Mingjun Li, President (European) Professor Pedro Nueno, Vice President and Co-Dean Professor Weijiong Zhang, President-Designate (European) Professor Dipak C. Jain, along with members of the Executive Committee of Faculty and programme directors.
Prof. Mingjun Li and Prof. Pedro Nueno conferred the certificates to Prof. Xiande Zhao and Prof. Ramakrishna Velamuri respectively. Prof. Nueno congratulated the three professors on their new roles which he anticipates will inspire them to achieve even more. He also shared anecdotes about chair professorship donations in the early days of the school. Earlier Prof. Nueno voluntarily gave up the Chengwei Ventures Chair Professor in Entrepreneurship, paving the way for other faculty to be recognised. The three professors at today’s ceremony acknowledged the honor conferred on them all, and expressed their gratitude and determination to be even more dedicated to teaching and research.

Professor Zhao is currently President of the Academy of Supply Chain and Operations Management (ASCOM) and Vice President of Asia Pacific Institute of Decision Science. He is Associate Editor for the Journal of Operations Management, Decision Sciences Journal, and a senior editor of Production and Operations Management Journal. He is also the Asia-area co-editor for Journal of Supply Chain Management and member of the business panel for the Research Grant Council of Hong Kong. In addition, he was awarded the CEIBS Research Excellence Awards in 2015.

Professor Velamuri, as a senior scholar in the Entrepreneurship area, has carried out assignments in the area of entrepreneurship faculty development for the International Finance Corporation (IFC) and the National Entrepreneurship Network India. His research mainly focuses on the relationship between the ethical behaviors of entrepreneurs and their ability to mobilize stakeholder support as well as that between business model innovations and firm growth. His research has been published in multiple influential academic and practitioner journals. He was a recipient of CEIBS Research Excellence Award in 2011.

Professor Hwang is currently on the editorial board of several leading accounting journals including The Accounting Review and has published extensively in academic journals including: Management Science, Review of Accounting Studies, The Accounting Review, Journal of Accounting and Public Policy, Journal of Accounting, and Auditing and Finance. He was elected as Secretary/Treasurer of the Accounting Section of the American Accounting Association (2007-2009). He was a recipient of CEIBS Teaching Excellence Award in 2014 and 2015.

Daisy Li