• Faculty & Research

    Knowledge creation on China, from proven China experts.

  • Faculty & Research

    Knowledge creation on China, from proven China experts.


Faculty Profiles


Xiang, Yi

Associate Professor of Marketing, CEIBS

Dr. Yi Xiang is Associate Professor of Marketing at CEIBS. Prior to joining CEIBS, he served as an Assistant Professor of Marketing at Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.

Dr. Xiang graduated from Tsinghua University with a Bachelor’s degree in Materials Science & Engineering. Then he received his Master and Doctoral degrees in Management from INSEAD.

His research focuses on media consumption and competition, advertising strategy, the marketing of information products, information efficiency of markets, and competition’s impact on market evolution. Before joining academia, Dr. Xiang was also in key management roles at various companies, such as Bekaert S. A. (Belgium), Baosteel Corporation, Philip Morris International (Switzerland), etc.

Dr. Xiang has published extensively in the world’s leading academic journals in the field of marketing, such as Marketing ScienceManagement ScienceQuantitative Marketing and Economics, and EMAC Proceedings etc.  Meanwhile, he is also a guest speaker at various faculty seminar series at the world's top business schools (University of Chicago, University of California at Berkeley, etc.). Prof. Xiang has received many awards for research and teaching, such as Finalist, John Little Best Paper Award in 2008 and Finalist, HKUST Franklin Teaching Prize in 2009 and 2011, etc.

  •  2006 PhD, INSEAD, France
  •  2003 MSc, INSEAD, France
  •  1998 BEng, Tsinghua University, China
  •  Media strategy
  •  Game theory
  •  Market evolution
  •  Business-to-Business Marketing
  •  Marketing Channels
  •  Information Economics
  •  Channel Management
  •  Strategies in Business Markets
  •  Media Management
  •  Business-to-Business Marketing
  •  Consumer Models
  •  Pricing Competition and Strategies 
  • Finalist, John Little Best Paper Award, 2008
  • Finalist, HKUST Franklin Teaching Prize, 2009 & 2011
  • ​Runner Up, Dick Wittink Award, 2013