• 教授/研究

    国内资深教授 - 中国知识创新

    944
  • 教授/研究

    国内资深教授 - 中国知识创新

    944
  • 教授/研究

    国内资深教授 - 中国知识创新

    944

教授简介

后退

杰弗里•桑普勒 (Sampler, Jeffrey)

中欧国际工商学院管理实践教授

桑普勒教授是中欧国际工商学院管理实践教授。2004至2012年他分别在牛津大学赛德商学院和伍斯特学院担任战略和技术研究员. 2001年至2004年间他在麻省理工学院担任信息系统研究员。

桑普勒教授于1992年在匹兹堡大学获得管理信息系统的博士学位、1988年获得南卫理公会大学商学院MBA学位,1982年获得德州A&M大学计算机科学学士学位。

桑普勒教授的主要研究内容包括战略与技术之间的关系。他的研究领域包括新技术的战略意义以及通过信息管理获取战略资源。他在很多杂志中发表过研究成果,如《会计管理和信息技术》、《财富》、《国际管理科学杂志》、《管理信息系统杂志》、《管理信息系统季刊》、《麻省斯隆-管理评论》以及《战略管理杂志》。他和John Cross 以及Michael Earl一起合作的文章“英国石油公司的信息技术转型”获得了信息管理者论文竞赛的一等奖。2015年,他获得“中欧教学优秀奖”。他写过两本关于迪拜经济转型的书:《从沙子到芯片》和《从沙子到芯片:--走向全球》。

他最近开展的重要研究课题为“战略应变能力的培养”,即企业如何应对突如其来的重大变故,维持整个企业的稳定发展。这项研究以15家印度公司的案例研究为基础。Sampler教授的新著《战略应变能力(Strategic Shock Absorbers)》即将付梓出版。

桑普勒教授经常参加相关会议及公司管理培训活动,并做主题发言。他曾先后前往35个国家开展教学活动,行程超过250万英里。桑普勒教授曾为众多FTSE-100强企业和新创企业提供咨询服务或在这些公司担任董事。他的重要咨询对象包括诺基亚公司前任总裁(服务时间长达5年)及两位政府首脑。此外,《商业周刊》(Newsweek)、BBS广播、CNBC、《经济时报》(Economic Times)、Financial Mail、IT Web等知名媒体曾对他的个人经历进行过专题报导。

  • 1992 博士 匹兹堡大学管理信息系统学
  • 1988 MBA 南卫理公会大学商学院
  • 1982 学士 计算机科学, 德州A&M大学
  • 新技术的战略意义
  • 通过信息管理获取战略资源
  • 信息技术引导的组织制度安排的替代方案
  • 新技术的战略意义
  • 技术在设计组织中的角色
  • 技术辅助式转型
  • 数码经济中的竞争
  • 电子商务和新型商业模式

• Faculty & Research

    Knowledge creation on China, from proven China experts.

    386
  • Faculty & Research

    Knowledge creation on China, from proven China experts.

    386
  • Faculty & Research

    Knowledge creation on China, from proven China experts.

    386

Faculty Profiles

Back

Sampler, Jeffrey

Professor of Management Practice, CEIBS

Dr. Jeffrey L. Sampler is Professor of Management Practice at China Europe International Business School (CEIBS). He was Fellow of Strategy and Technology at Said Business School and Fellow of Green Templeton College, University of Oxford during 2004 and 2012. He has also been Research Scientist in Centre for Information System Research, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) since 2001.

Professor Sampler received his Ph.D. in Management Information Systems from University of Pittsburgh in 1992, MBA from Southern Methodist University in 1988 and BS in Computer Science from Texas A&M University in 1982. 

Professor Sampler’s research straddles the intersection between strategy and technology. His research interests include the strategic implications of new technology, and the management of information as a strategic resource. His work has appeared in such journals as Accounting Management, and Information Technology, Fortune, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Management Information Systems, MIS Quarterly, Sloan Management Review and Strategic Management Journal. His paper with John Cross and Michael Earl, on the ''Transformation of IT at British Petroleum Exploration'' won first prize in the Society of Information Managers' paper competition. He was awarded the CEIBS 2015 Teaching Excellence Awards. He has written two books on the economic transformation of Dubai, Sand to Silicon and Sand to Silicon – Going Global.

His current research activities focus on ''developing strategic shock absorbers'' – or how can organisations encounter unexpected change and not destabilise the entire organisation. The foundation for the research is 15 case studies on Indian companies. His forthcoming book, Strategic Shock Absorbers, gives companies insights for planning in environments characterised by very turbulent and rapidly growing markets.

He is also a frequent speaker at conferences and corporate management retreats and has travelled over 2.5 million miles giving lectures in over 35 countries. He has advised and been a board member of both FTSE 100 corporations and start-ups. Notable assignments include being advisor to former president of Nokia for 5 years and advising 2 Heads of State. He has been featured in Newsweek, on BBC Radio, CNBC, Economic Times, Financial Mail, and IT Web.

  •  1992, Ph.D. in Management Information Systems, University of Pittsburgh
  •  1988, MBA, Southern Methodist University
  •  1982, BS in Computer Science, Texas A&M University
  •  Strategic implications of new technology
  •  Management of information as a strategic resource
  •  Information technology enabled alternative organisational arrangements 
  •  Strategic implications of new technology
  •  Role of technology in designing organisation
  •  Technology-enabled transformation
  •  Competing in the digital economy
  •  E-commerce and new business models

No videos