• TheLINK微信杂志

    25周年校庆——祝福与展望

    1235
  • 中欧校友

    迄今,学院已有遍布全球80多个国家的校友22,000多人

    1235

墨帆的旅程

2015年第一期

文/雷娜

完美搭档

时隔两年,龚剑刚(EMBA 2006)依然清晰记得穆友涵(Johannes Muffler,MBA 2008)发来的第一封邮件。信是用中文写的,穆友涵说自己是中欧MBA校友,正打算开展中国旅客出境游的生意,希望向龚咨询意见——这是中欧校友网络的神奇功用之一,无论你想了解哪个行业,你总能从中找到顶尖人士寻求帮助,不必担心被拒之门外。龚剑刚已经在旅游业打拼了二十年,他曾经担任中旅上海公司总经理,之后创办了优途中国,事业发展可谓一帆风顺。但穆友涵的邮件飘然而至,却唤醒了他心底尘封已久的一个梦想。

“优途每年接待四万多外国游客,一直致力于提供最多的服务。何谓最多的服务?打个比方来说,如果预算充足,我们会让游客来到滨江位置最好的酒吧,欣赏浦江两岸的灯火一点点亮起来;如果预算不足,导游也会背着红酒上长城,让游客一边品呷红酒一边欣赏落日。”龚剑刚表示,“遗憾的是,这样的情节很少发生在中国人的海外旅行中。因此我一直有个梦想,就是让中国人在游览欧洲时也能享受这样的服务。”

龚剑刚解释说,目前中国国内的大部分出境游还停留在中低端水平,欧洲当地的旅行社大多是中国移民或留学生所开的,服务意识并不高,使得很多去欧洲的游客并没有真正领略当地风土人情,只是走马观花地看风景。“过去三五年,越来越多的游客开始放弃普通旅游团;一些高端游客甚至参加了美国的知名旅行团,确实会有很多不一样的体验,但前提是游客的英文很好。”

穆友涵是德国人,他加入旅游业的故事也颇有意思。2008年,24岁他来到中欧读MBA,是班级里年纪最小的学生,毕业之后他回到德国,在拜耳制药获得了一份报酬优渥的工作。一个偶然的机会,为了答谢曾经给予他很多帮助的中欧同学,他为同学及其家人制定了一个非常详细的德国行程,并收到了良好反馈。穆友涵从中领悟到了自己对于旅游业的兴趣和天分,于是决定辞职,专心去做一家接待中国游客的旅行社,当年他亲手设计的行程后来也成了墨帆(movoya)的经典产品之一。

当他们初次见面时,龚剑刚流利的德语让穆友涵吃了一惊。“因为我是同济大学德语系毕业的。”龚剑刚微笑着向穆友涵伸出手。当尘封的梦想遇到了崭新的希望,当语言障碍的消除让沟通变得异常顺畅,墨帆这个项目的开启,确实有点得天独厚的意味。
说中文的老外导游

墨帆的名字源于法语,意为“我的旅行”。

墨帆的导游都是能说一口流利汉语的欧洲人。他们曾在中国生活多年,了解中国的文化习俗,其中不乏多才多艺者——有人谙熟中国茶道、书法,有人持有专业飞行员执照,有人是少林功夫高手。在墨帆的网站首页上,一段由导游飞力(Felix)亲自出演的视频让人印象深刻。天空如洗,碧草如织,欧洲古城的诗情画意如卷轴般徐徐展开,“对我来说,梦想就是拥有这样的阳光、空气、蓝天和假期。”墨帆将梦想清晰勾勒在中国游客面前,并以对品质的执着,让美梦成真。在墨帆的旅程中,导游和游客之间常常会结下深厚友谊。前不久飞力来上海出差时,一位他曾经接待的客人还特地连日赶织出一顶帽子,作为御寒礼物赠送给他。

穆友涵具体描述了墨帆的游客和导游之间的交往,“我们的客人之前从来没有被老外导游服务的经历,因此这个过程非常有趣。客人通常是清晨下飞机,我们会安排他们在一个俯瞰城堡、景色怡人的饭店就餐,然后一同漫步小径。一开始客人不熟悉环境,会有些紧张。当他们驱车前往旅游景点时,紧张的情绪就得到了舒缓。游客在车上拍乡间风景,导游说没关系啊,我们可以停车拍照......在当地人眼中,不同文化背景的游客可能有点行为古怪,但导游可以打破文化隔阂、促进交流。例如,在德国乡间餐馆就餐时,导游会帮助游客与当地人沟通,让游客们克服拘谨,与当地人像朋友一样交谈。”

墨帆的旅程专注于产品

墨帆最大的特色是专注于小型团体,如果不是公司活动,一个旅行团只有四到十人;导游是中文流利的欧洲人;旅行线路非常新颖,那里看不到成群结队的旅行团;客人下榻的酒店别具特色、隐逸舒适。“我们的目标是让游客通过欧洲人的眼睛了解当地的文化和生活方式。”

墨帆为游客设计了很多别出心裁的旅程。在产品研制方面,他们犹如潜心于技艺的德国工匠。在旅行中,客人们可以漫步于柏林墙遗址纪念公园感受岁月变迁,可以徜徉在波茨坦广场欣赏现代建筑,可以寻访德国黑森林地区的咕咕钟手工制作工场,可以带着孩子亲临《小红帽》等格林童话的诞生地,也可以在锡尔夫雷塔盘山公路上飞驰,随着山谷起伏欣赏或冰雪覆盖、或绿洲蔓延的壮阔风景。

“旅游中有两件事很重要,一是你去哪里旅游,二是你和谁一起旅游。世界上最远的距离,是你爱极了乡村美景,恨不得在那里住上一个月,而他(她)却急着去大城市买奢侈品。”龚剑刚笑着说,“人以群分,我们必须设计出不同的主题,将兴趣和需求相同的人集合在一起。例如,今年冬天我们推出了一款‘带着全家去旅行’的产品。我们知道很多成功人士都希望陪家人一起旅行,只是苦于抽不出时间......这里的‘家’可以是三口之家,也可以是一个包括父母兄弟姐妹在内的大家庭,我们在整合资源时会考虑老人和孩子的需求。例如,我们会安排游客到欧洲当地人家吃饭,感受欧洲家庭三代同堂的氛围。”

龚剑刚说,许多中国企业家都很欣赏德国企业,除了奥迪、奔驰这些举世闻名的品牌之外,许多德国小企业也是非常值得尊敬和学习的。如今他们将墨帆的总部设在柏林,就是期待做这样的旅游业“小企业”,以德国品质经营公司,将最好的服务提供给游客。

中欧烙印

“如果没有中欧,我们不会相识,更不会在很短时间内建立互信。”穆友涵感叹。当他们在咖啡馆中热烈讨论着公司的未来发展时,旁人不禁欣羡这种建立在沟通和信任之上的完美氛围。他们的相遇与中欧有着千丝万缕的联系,而墨帆对于品质的坚持,以及中西合璧的经营方式,也折射出了中欧的精神。

如今穆友涵是墨帆的CEO,龚剑刚是合伙人,扮演支持者的角色。在穆友涵的眼中,龚是个生活阅历丰富的智者,每当自己遇到困难时,龚总能镇定自若地给予意见。而龚剑刚认为,穆友涵是他见过的最典型的德国人,“他极其严谨认真,非常坚持自己的原则。例如,我们做了一个很好的产品目录,我觉得已经非常完美了,他还是会说再看看,要不要哪里再改一下;又例如,我们公司的规模只能同时接待三批客人,为了确保服务质量,他就会拒绝第四批客人——这是很多中国公司无法理解的,会被认为是效率低下。但是每当我看见客人们尽兴而归,就觉得他的这份坚持是值得的。当然,我也会在效率和品质之间帮助他达成平衡。”
前不久,穆友涵在巴塞罗那参加了中欧欧洲校友的第一次重聚,他在会上见到了尊敬的雷诺院长和苏理达教务长,也在与校友的交流中发现了许多商业机会,这是他又一次感受到中欧校友网络的力量。他期待未来中欧能够在海外更多地举办这类活动,让更多校友能通过校友网络建立合作,在全球范围内拓展商业领域,取得更丰硕的成果。

创业箴言

墨帆的旅程“创业需要静下心来。现在的社会很浮躁,每个人都不免被这种浮躁影响,如何克服浮躁,专心地去做一件事,这个真的很难。在创业过程中要坚持初心,也要因势利导做出改变。沉住气,耐住性,最重要。”
——龚剑刚

 

 

 

墨帆的旅程“中国和欧洲文化差异很大,但心灵却是相通的。当我刚来中国时,就深深地爱上了这个国家。我和同学曾多次出去旅行,中国人的热情好客给我留下了深刻印象。我对中国有着深厚的感情,可以说这份感情是我创业的最大动力。对我来说,帮助中国人在欧洲旅游,就是回报他们曾经给予我的那份深情厚谊。”
——穆友涵

• TheLINK on WeChat

    Look what you’ve been missing!

    569
  • CEIBS Alumni

    Join the largest, most influential b-school network in China: over 20,000 business leaders, and growing.

     

    569

movoya's journey

Volume 1, 2015

by Lei Na

Even though it’s been two years, Josef Gong (CEIBS EMBA 2006) still clearly remembers the first email he got from Johannes Muffler. It was in Chinese, though the writer was German. Johannes introduced himself as a CEIBS MBA 2008 alumnus who wanted to start a business that focused on outbound tourism for Chinese travellers. He hoped Gong, who had already been in the tourist industry for 20 years, had advice to offer. Gong was happy to help as he could draw on the expertise he had accumulated while working as General Manager with Shanghai China Travel International Ltd and then launching his own start-up, Utour.

“Utour had long been committed to providing ‘maximum service’ to the more than 40,000 foreign travellers it receives every year. What does ‘maximum service’ mean? If budget permits, we take our guests to the best bar by the Huangpu River, where they can watch the lights on both river banks light up one by one. If budget does not permit, tour guides will take wine to the Great Wall, and our guests have wine while watching the sunset,” says Gong. “I’ve always thought it’s a pity Chinese people rarely get that kind of service when they travel overseas. I’ve always dreamed that one day Chinese tourists could enjoy this same level of service in Europe.”

Entrepreneurial Spirit, Volume 1, 2015

In China, he says, the outbound tourism industry still has a long way to go. Meanwhile in Europe, agencies targeting Chinese tourists are mostly run by Chinese immigrants or overseas students, who are often lacking when it comes to customer service skills. Agency-organised tours often fail to provide Chinese tourists with an understanding of authentic local customs, but merely offer sightseeing, Gong adds. “In the past 3 to 5 years, more and more travellers have begun to give up on tour groups. Some high-end tourists even join well-known American groups. This does bring about a very distinct experience, but the prerequisite is that they can speak English very well.”

But what motivated Johannes? There’s an interesting story about what led him to the field of tourism. In 2008, then 24-year-old, he enrolled as one of the youngest members in his CEIBS MBA class. After graduation he stayed in China, working in Nanjing and Beijing, for the German pharmaceuticals corporation Bayer. After a few years, he returned to Germany to be closer to family and friends. Just for fun, to thank one of his former CEIBS classmates that had become a close friend, he designed a very detailed itinerary for his classmate's family to travel in Europe. He got great feedback. Realising that he had a knack for and genuine interest in tourism, Johannes decided to start movoya, an agency exclusively focused on Chinese tourists looking for an authentic travel experience in Europe. movoya is a buzzword that comes from the French “mon voyage” which means “my journey”. The itinerary designed for his classmate later became a classic movoya travel route.

Speaking the Same Language

Entrepreneurial Spirit, Volume 1, 2015

At their first meeting, Johannes was surprised by Gong’s fluent German; just as Gong had been surprised to receive an email in Chinese from a German. Gong had graduated from Tongji University’s German Department. With no language barrier, the common bond of being CEIBS alumni and a solid understanding of each other’s cultures, their collaboration has been very smooth. They decided to include some of these elements in their business plan. movoya tour guides are all local Europeans who speak fluent Chinese. They have years of experience in China, and they understand China’s culture and customs. Some are experts in Chinese tea ceremonies and calligraphy, some have pilot licenses, and some are Kungfu masters. On movoya’s website, there’s an impressive video starring Felix, one of their tour guides. Under the clear sky, in the midst of a carpet of green grass, all the beauty and romance of Europe’s ancient towns unfolds like a gorgeous painting.  “For me, dreaming means to have sunshine, fresh air, a blue sky and holidays,” says Felix. He, like many movoya tour guides, often becomes great friends with their guests as they explore Europe together. On a recent business trip to Shanghai, one of his former guests spent days knitting him a hat to keep him warm. 

Johannes explains that a lot of thought goes into making sure their Chinese guests are slowly eased into the experience of being served by European guides. For many, they’ve never had this experience before. Their movoya journey usually begins right after they land; it’s usually a morning flight. They enjoy a leisurely breakfast in a restaurant that has a bird’s eye view of castles and fabulous scenery, followed by a stroll. “Some guests are nervous right at the beginning, because they’re not familiar with the environment. They calm down after we drive them to the attractions,” Johannes says. Unlike some tour groups, movoya gives their guests plenty of time to take photos and linger as they enjoy the scenery. They also help bridge the gap between locals and their guests. “For example, when dining in a countryside eatery in Germany, our tour guides will help our guests chat with the locals. This helps them shake off any feelings of formality and have real conversations with the local people, like friends,” he adds.

The Personal Touch

Entrepreneurial Spirit, Volume 1, 2015

movoya intentionally keeps groups small, that’s one of its advantages. Unless there’s a company-specific activity, each group only includes four to ten people. Travel arrangements are very novel, so they can avoid other big groups; and the boutique hotels selected have a certain distinctive ambiance that provides a peaceful and comfortable atmosphere. “Our goal is to let our guests understand the local culture and lifestyle with help from European guides,” says Johannes.

This is why they have designed many uniquely original itineraries. While doing product R&D, they act like German craftsmen concentrating on artistry. During their travels, movoya guests can take a walk along the Berlin Wall Memorial to feel the passage of time, appreciate modern architecture while wandering through Potsdam Square, visit quaint cuckoo clock handicraft workshops in the Black Forest, or take their children to visit the birthplace of Grimm’s Fairy Tales that gave us stories like Little Red Hat. They can also speed along the Silvretta High Alpine Road, with the valley’s rise and fall, watching the breathtakingly beautiful landscape that’s either covered with ice and snow or vast areas of lush greenery.

“On a journey, two elements matter most. One is where you’re going, and the other is whom you’re going with,” says Gong. “This is why we design various themes, bringing together people with similar interests and requirements. For example, this winter we launched a product called ‘Travel with Your Family’. We realised that many successful people want to travel with their families, but their only problem is time??These tours are designed to meet the needs of various types of family groups: nuclear, extended, those that include the elderly and kids. Whatever the group, movoya finds ways to provide them with a truly unique journey. “For example, we will arrange for our guests to dine with European locals, and experience the atmosphere generated by European families of three generations,” says Gong.

CEIBS Paves the Way

Entrepreneurial Spirit, Volume 1, 2015

Today, movoya is headquartered in Berlin, with offices in Shanghai and Barcelona. The goal is to run their company with German efficiency while providing the best service possible for all their guests. They take inspiration from world famous German brands such as Audi and Benz, as well as the country’s many small businesses that have earned a great deal of respect and could be regarded as role models.

Both men know they could not have come this far without their alma mater. “Without CEIBS, we would not have met each other, let alone build up mutual trust in such a short time,” Johannes says. Their adherence to strict quality standards, and unique business model that’s a combination of East and West, is a reflection of the CEIBS spirit.

Today Johannes is the CEO of movoya, and Gong plays the supporting role as his partner. In Johannes’ eyes, Gong is a wise man with rich life experience. He turns to him whenever there’s a problem to be solved. Gong is always a calm source of valuable advice. Meanwhile, Gong sees Johannes as a typical German. “He’s extremely cautious and earnest, and he’s very resolute when it comes to his principles,” says Gong. He recalls Johannes’ insistence on double-checking a product catalogue that he thought was already very good, looking for areas of improvement. In fact Johannes has always kept a careful eye on quality control. “In the early days when our company size only allowed us to receive three batches of guests each time, he turned down every fourth batch to ensure our service quality. For many Chinese companies, this is unacceptable and would be seen as inefficient,” says Gong. “But every time I see our guests leaving, utterly satisfied, I see that his perseverance in quality control is worthwhile. Of course, I also help him to reach a balance between efficiency and quality.”

Last year, Johannes joined CEIBS’ European alumni’s first reunion in Barcelona, where he met the school’s President Pedro Nueno and Dean Hellmut Schütte. He also discovered many business opportunities during conversations with other alumni. He could feel the power of CEIBS’ alumni network, which has already played such a huge role in movoya’s launch. He’s hoping CEIBS will host more events like the Barcelona reunion, which can create opportunities for alumni to set up partnerships via their network, expand their businesses globally, and reap even greater rewards.