• TheLINK微信杂志

    您不可不读的中欧校友杂志

    1235
  • 中欧校友

    迄今,学院已有遍布全球80多个国家的校友22,000多人

    1235

冯喆:世界因连接而创造价值

2015年第四期

冯喆(左)和他的妻子、表弟,他们都是中欧MBA校友

文/雷娜

“年轻”是冯(MBA 2010)和他从事的互联网行业共同的标签。

冯在大学里学的是通讯工程,在艾默生网络工作两年后,24岁的他决心报考中欧MBA,并在录取后不久即申请了欧盟奖学金。年轻为他加分不少,他的言谈充满朝气,却不乏真知灼见,给面试官留下了好印象。通过层层筛选,最终他获得了一万欧元的欧盟奖学金(半额)。这在经济上和精神上,都给了他极大的支持。

时隔七年,冯依然记得参加中欧MBA课堂讨论的情景。“在第一学期,我和一位英国同学一个组,他是牛津毕业的高材生。我们常常会为一个案例争论两三个小时,甚至更久。”冯大学时曾经在全国性英语辩论赛中获奖,善于应对这种头脑风暴,并且从中学会了更加多元化地看待人和环境。回顾在中欧的学习,冯表示,“中欧并不是让我某一方面的能力特别强,而是弥补了很多短板,让我成为了一个比较全面的管理人才。”后来在他的影响下,他的女朋友(现在的太太)和表弟也报考了中欧MBA,成了他的校友。

从中欧毕业之后,冯在诺基亚工作了一年,随后加入中国本土互联网三巨头之一腾讯。他经历了中国移动互联网发展的一段光辉岁月,当他再次回到母校时,已是微信产品高级总监。微信之父张小龙曾经说,要以“傻瓜”的思路和心态做产品。而冯表示,当微信将最简单的一面呈现给用户时,背后是整个团队所付出的巨大努力。“微信的愿景,是希望连接一切,将所有人,将人与物、人与企业、人与服务都连接起来,让这个世界因连接而创造价值。”在接受《TheLINK》杂志专访时,冯回顾了自己的职业经历,并对中国和欧盟如何在互联网领域交流合作发表了见解。

《TheLINK》:您之前在腾讯担任战略部高级总监,最近又开始担任微信产品高级总监,能不能向我们介绍一下您的日常工作?

在腾讯战略部的工作分为两块:对内而言,我们会去考察一些前沿、高科技的创新机会,做全景式扫描,对行业前景进行分析;我们会帮助业务团队推动一些战略的落地执行,也会帮助各部门梳理每年的商业计划和业务指标。对外而言,我们会去看一些投资机会,并帮助公司已投资的战略合作伙伴与内部业务对接。

我们也负责发掘和探索一些新的业务机会。之前我自己发起了一个项目,得到了老板的认可,他希望我直接做这个项目。于是大约一个月前,我开始担任微信产品高级总监,带领着技术和产品团队,像一个小小的创业团队一样在内部孵化一个全新的业务。

FENGZHE_调整大小.jpg《TheLINK》:有一种说法,认为就移动互联网的发展而言,中国比欧美更先进。对此您认同吗?您觉得中国与欧盟在移动互联网领域有哪些合作机会?

以前我们的QQ是在模仿美国最先进的产品,顶多再加一点“微创新”,但到了移动互联网时代,中国无论是在人才、经验,还是机制上,都孕育出了很强的创新能力,开始逐步走上有自身特色的互联网发展之路了。此外,中国互联网也与许多原先发展较落后的行业,如金融、出租车、餐饮等相结合,使得这些行业的信息流通更顺畅了,有了更好的体验、信用和评价机制。

目前,全球排名前十的互联网公司中,有六家美国公司和四家中国公司,其中并没有欧洲公司。诺基亚原本是想做移动互联网的,当年我去那儿也是做这方面的工作,但感觉无论是操作系统、通信标准,还是上层应用,都无法跟上移动互联网的步伐。但欧洲有自己的资源和机会,例如,现在赴欧洲出境游的人越来越多,我的一些同学就在做互联网领域的跨境旅游产品;欧洲的工业制造也有很多很好的经验,可以跟中国消费者进行对接。现在国内很多互联网公司都期待走出去,像阿里、京东,都在做跨境电商、跨境物流;腾讯微信上也有很多微店是在欧洲的中国人和留学生开的,我觉得在这些领域中国和欧盟可以有更多更深入的合作。

《TheLINK》:那您觉得欧洲应该加快在互联网领域的发展吗?

我觉得这可能跟行业特点有关。中国和美国都是最大的单一市场,中国互联网的兴起也得益于中国十几亿的人口。中国互联网采用的是免费模式,从一开始竞争就非常激烈,如果你做不到第一名,第二名是很惨的,这就将行业的创新力和执行力锻炼得非常强。而且这个市场没有受到太多行政干预,相对比较自由。因此中国这片土壤是很适合互联网发展的。相比而言,欧盟虽然很大,但是每个国家都有自己独立的文化和语言,且与美国语言相通,用户很容易就采用了美国的社交媒体和网络服务,因此欧洲可能很难形成体量巨大的互联网企业。

《TheLINK》:因为没有被移动互联网改变太多,欧洲似乎代表着一种我们已然失去的宁静美好。有时候我也会怀念以前比较缓慢的生活方式。不知道您作为互联网人士,如何看待我这种矛盾心理?

我觉得这也挺正常的,但是我们已经不可能回到过去了。你可以去缅怀,去追寻过去的感觉,就像故地重游一样,但你不可能回到过去的时代生活了。我觉得任何事物的存在都有其合理性。从信息获取角度分析,有了互联网之后,不仅可以用文字表达,还可以用视频、声音表达,媒体属性更加丰富。同样是一分钟,传递信息的效率要比书籍高多了。从信息产生角度而言,书籍是由少数有写作能力的人创作的,制作一本书的周期很长、门槛很高,要花费大量的时间和精力,等到出版的时候对很多人来说可能信息就已经过时了。现在的互联网是让所有人变成信息的创造者,大家看到的东西往往是通过用户筛选的。互联网能够把信息更快地甄别和鉴赏出来,消除人与人之间的信息不平等,加速信息的产生和传递。

为什么尽管大家有各种各样的担心,但还是会去做这件事?因为移动互联网本身确实有很大的优越性与合理性。

《TheLINK》:您作为互联网行业的中欧校友,对中欧未来的发展有怎样的期待?

首先,我们是从中欧毕业的,都流淌着中欧的血液,打上了中欧的烙印,自然希望中欧能够越办越好。其次,中欧在国内已经很有影响力了,我们期待中欧能够增强国际影响力,让更多国外的人听说和了解中欧。最后,现在教育行业和互联网也有很多结合的机会。以前商学院的很多教学案例可能都来自工业2.0时代,多是关于传统制造行业的,以美国企业积累的商业实践与管理经验为主。今天,中国互联网发展得这么快,创造了很多新的机会、新的方法,这种基于中国本土互联网的实践和经验,我们希望将来也能通过中欧传播出去,不仅指导本土企业,还可以影响海外企业。希望学院从知识的传播者,向商业创新引领者的角色转型。我想这也是中欧更上一层楼,成为顶级商学院的机会,我们期待能与学院在这方面有更多合作。

• TheLINK on WeChat

    Look what you’ve been missing!

    569
  • CEIBS Alumni

    Join the largest, most influential b-school network in China: over 20,000 business leaders, and growing.

     

    569

Lives Forever Changed - Feng Zhe: Creating Value by Connecting People

Volume 4, 2015

From left: Feng Zhe, his wife and his cousin, all CEIBS alumni.

 

By Leina & Zhang Yueting

 

“Young” is the tag most often attached to Feng Zhe (MBA 2008) when seeing him for the first time; but a look at all that he has accomplished and a conversation with him about the sector he is in – the Internet – soon erases that image.

Feng studied communications engineering at university and after two years at Emerson, he decided to enrol in the CEIBS MBA programme. The then 24 year-old applied for an EU scholarship soon after being admitted. He had a way with words, strong opinions and he impressed the scholarship committee during a series of interviews. He got a half scholarship, €10,000, a great boost to his ego and welcome help in covering a portion of his tuition.
 
Seven years later, Feng still remembers moments from classroom discussions. “In our first term, I was on the same team with an English classmate who had graduated from Oxford. We would argue for a case for two to three hours, or even longer,” he says. Feng had received awards in national English debate contests while at university, so these discussions were right up his alley. He has a knack for brainstorming, and he quickly learnt how to look at people and issues from others’ – not just his – perspective. “CEIBS did not so much improve any specific one of my abilities as it made up for many of my shortcomings,” he says of his time studying at the Shanghai Campus. “I became a manager, well-rounded in all aspects.” Later, he convinced his then girlfriend – who is now his wife – and his cousin to also do a CEIBS MBA. Now they have joined him as part of the school’s 17,000-plus alumni network.

After his graduation from CEIBS, Feng worked at Nokia for a year, then joined Tencent, one of the big three in China’s Internet industry. He experienced the golden age of China’s mobile Internet industry, and when he returned to CEIBS for his interview with TheLINK, he had recently been made Senior Director for WeChat products, Tencent’s flagship APP doing battle in the fiercely competitive mobile Internet era. There is a well-known comment attributed to the “father” of WeChat Zhang Xiaolong: a product should be developed so that even a dummy could use it. Feng credits the huge “backstage” effort by the entire team for WeChat’s ease of use. “The vision in developing WeChat is to connect everything, linking all people together, people and things, people and enterprises, people and services, and create value out of these links,” he says with a passion that shows that he truly loves his job. Read on for more from his interview with TheLINK, as he looks back at his career and ahead at how China and the EU could boost collaboration in the Internet field.

TheLINK: You were Senior Director of Tencent’s strategic department, and recently you’ve become Senior Director of WeChat products. WeChat has become such an integral part of our daily lives here in China, what’s a day at work like for you?

There are basically two aspects to the work in Tencent’s strategic department: internal and external. Within our company, we are always on the lookout for cutting-edge opportunities that arise as a result of innovation, we take a broad view of the industry’s prospects and there is a certain amount of analysis involved. We help business teams implement some of their strategies, and help departments comb through their annual business plans and goals so they can make strategic decisions for the future. Outside our company, we look at investment opportunities and help facilitate links between our strategic partners in whom we’ve invested, and the corresponding branches of our business.

We are also responsible for exploring new business opportunities. I launched a project myself, which our boss’ approved. In fact he would like me to be directly responsible for the project. So about a month ago, my job expanded to include being Senior Director of WeChat products, to head the technology and product team and we also serve as a mini incubator for brand new businesses within the company.

TheLINK: There’s a theory that in terms of mobile Internet, China is ahead of Europe and America. Do you agree? Do you see any opportunities for potential cooperation between China and the EU?

Early on, our QQ was learning from the most advanced products in the USA, even though sometimes we added a little “micro-innovation” to it. In the mobile Internet era, China has spawned very strong innovation ability in terms of talented individuals, experience and the mechanism itself. China has begun its development of the Internet with some features that are uniquely its own. In addition, the combination of the Internet and many traditional industries like finance, transportation, and service industries such as food & beverage has enabled smoother communication, better experiences and rating systems for these industries and services.

Currently, there are six US companies and four Chinese ones among the World’s Top 10 Internet companies, but no European ones. Nokia had wanted to engage in mobile Internet, and that was supposed to be my area of focus when I worked there early on. But I felt it was somewhat far away from mobile Internet whether in its OS, communications standards, or in its upper-level applications. Nevertheless, Europe has its own resources and opportunities, e.g. now more and more Chinese people travel to Europe, and some of my classmates are developing Internet products for overseas tourism. Moreover, Europe’s industrial manufacturing experiences are good and can be linked with China’s consumers. Now many domestic Internet companies are eager to go beyond national boundaries, like Alibaba and JD, which are both doing overseas e-commerce and logistics. Tencent WeChat also has a lot of WeShops (a kind of online shop provided by WeChat) opened by overseas Chinese (including overseas Chinese students) in Europe. I think China and Europe can have more, and deeper, cooperation in these areas.

TheLINK: Do you think Europe should quicken its steps in Internet development?

I think this has something to do with the characteristics of the industry. China and the US are both huge unified markets, and the rise of China’s Internet industry benefits from the billion+ population of the country. China’s Internet industry has low entry barriers and players usually do not charge users a service fee, so competition is fierce from the start, and if you cannot reach the top, being second place will be miserable. All this nurtures very strong innovation skills and execution ability. In addition, this market has not had overly heavy intervention from administrative forces, and so it is relatively free. Therefore, China is a rich land for the development of the Internet. On the other hand, the EU – which is a vast area – is made up of a number of independent countries, each with its unique culture and language, and some are connected with the US in their shared use of English. Therefore, people in the EU will readily use social media and Internet service from the US. For these reasons, Europe may have difficulty in forming its own giant Internet companies.

TheLINK: Europe seems to have a kind of serenity and beauty that we’ve lost, in terms of the impact the Internet has had on our lives. As someone who is in the Internet field, what are your views on this?

You can miss, or even pursue the feeling of the past, like visiting an old place; but you cannot go back to live there. I think this is normal, but we cannot turn back the clock now.

Everything has its own reason for being. In terms of transmission of information, with the Internet, you can express yourself with text as well as with video and sound, which are richer media formats. The same one minute can transmit information at a far higher rate using the Internet than with books. Seen from the perspective of information production, books are authored by the few with writing abilities, and a book takes a lot of time and energy to produce, which is a high and difficult threshold for many to pass. Finally, when the book comes out, the information contained in it may well be outdated. Now, the Internet makes everyone a creator of information, and things people see are often sifted through and sorted for them by other Internet users. The Internet can select information more quickly, eliminating information disparity between people, and speed up the production and transmission of information.

So why do people still use the Internet despite various doubts and worries? Because mobile Internet itself does have huge advantages and its own solid grounds for existence.

TheLINK: As a CEIBS alumnus in the Internet industry, what are your hopes for CEIBS’ future?

I graduated from CEIBS, I have the “CEIBS blood running in my veins”, so naturally I hope that CEIBS will achieve even more in the future. Secondly, CEIBS is hugely influential in China, and I hope it will enjoy international renown; that more foreigners learn more about the school. Lastly, now there are many opportunities for the combination of education and the Internet. In the past many of the teaching cases in business schools came from the industry 2.0 era, most were about traditional manufacturing industries, with business practices and management experience from US companies. Now, with such rapid development of China’s Internet and so many new opportunities and methods created, we also hope that practices and experience based on China’s own Internet sector could be disseminated through CEIBS. That way, they can serve as guidance not only for domestic companies, but also for overseas ones. We hope the school can transform itself from disseminator of knowledge to the role of leader of business innovation. I think this is also an opportunity that would bring CEIBS to the next level of being a world-class business school. We hope to have more opportunities for collaboration with CEIBS.