Faculty List

Wu, Jinglian
Senior Research Fellow, Development Research Centre of the State Council of P.R.C.;
Baosteel Chair Professor of Economics, CEIBS;   
Honorary President, International Economic Association (IEA)

Nationality: China

*1983-1984, Visiting Fellow, Department of Economics, Yale University
*1954, Graduated from Economic Department, Fudan University

*Theoretical Economics
*Comparative Institutional Analysis
*Theory and Policy of the Economic Reform in China

*Chinese Economy


Prof. Wu Jinglian is Baosteel Chair Professor of Economics at CEIBS. He has been a Member of the Academic Council of CEIBS since the school was founded and a faculty member since 1996. Prof. Wu is also a Senior Research Fellow at the Development Research Centre of the State Council; a professor in the Graduate School of Chinese Academy of Social Sciences and Peking University; a chief editor of Comparative Studies and Journal of Legal and Economic Studies; and academic committee member of the Chinese Economists 50 Forum.

Professor Wu graduated from Fudan University with a major in Economics in 1954. He has been a visiting fellow or visiting professor at Yale University, Oxford University, Stanford University and MIT. Since 1984, he has served the State Council as an Executive Director of DRC, and then as a Deputy Director of the Economic System Reform office. He was a Member of the 8th National Committee of the CPPCC, a Standing Committee Member and Deputy Director in the Economic Commission of the 9th and 10th CPPCC,Deputy Director at Advisory Committee for State Informatization, Deputy Director of Committee for State Planning, Member of Advisory Committee to the State Council of Medical and Healthcare System Reform,and Executive Committee Member of the International Economic Association (IEA) from 2003-2008.

Prof. Wu received the Sun Yefang Award in Economics in 1984, 1986, 1988, 1990 and 1992. He was honoured with the International Academy of Management's (IAM) Award of Excellence in 2003, China Economics Prize – Outstanding Contribution to China's Economy Award in 2005, and was awarded the degree of Doctor of Social Sciences honoris causa by The University of Hong Kong, and Hong Kong Baptist University. He was Named Honorary President of IEA in 2011.

Professor Wu is a co-founder of Comparative Institutional Analysis in China. With his research achievements, he has made important contributions to the theoretical foundation for the development of a market economy and the transformation of the economic development pattern on the Chinese mainland. He advocates that the reform should target the establishment of a market economy, limit the business territory of state-owned corporations, develop private enterprises, and fulfil the goal that multiple forms of ownership compete and develop simultaneously in an economy with the rule of law and a democratic political system, which is very influential to the Reform of China. His major Publications are: On Economic Reform (1987; the Russian version in 1990); An Integrated Design of China's Economic Reform (1988, co-authored with Zhou Xiaochuan etc.); Dynamic Analysis and Policy Studies of China’s Economy (1988, co-authored with Hu Ji etc.); On The Competitive Market System (1991, co-authored with Liu Jirui); A Planned Economy or a Market Economy? (1992); Reform: Now at a Critical Point (2001); China in Transition (2002); Understanding and Interpreting Chinese Economic Reform, (2004, the English version in 2005); Decision on China's Growth Model (2006), Restarting China's Reform(2013),Confronting a Great Transition(2014),etc.