• TheLINK微信杂志

    您不可不读的中欧校友杂志

    1235
  • 中欧校友

    迄今,学院已有遍布全球80多个国家的校友22,000多人

    1235

无人机、机器人......未来已来

2015年第三期

文/柯玟秀

郑卫锋胸怀鸿鹄之志。在他看来,未来是机器人的时代。“人和动物之间的最大区别就是人能发明工具。”他解释道,“火车、飞机等代步工具是人类双腿的延伸;挖掘机等机器是人类双臂的延伸;望远镜让我们能看得更远;而电脑则是人类大脑的延伸。机器人是人类发明工具的一个综合解决方案,它集合了手臂、双腿和眼睛,是一个超越以往的大集成。我们的目标是造出机器人的大脑——它的操作系统。我认为这是未来五十年将会出现的下一个大事件。”

北京臻迪智能科技有限公司由郑卫锋创立,公司的战略受到了科幻作家艾萨克·阿西莫夫(Isaac Asimov)的启发。“我们相信深度学习、机器学习和人工智能会是未来的方向。”郑卫锋说,“在遥远的未来,我们的目标是成为一家人工智能的机器人公司。未来机器人的形态可能不是人们通常想象的——人的形状。它更可能是个计算中心,具备很强的计算能力以及自主学习、自主进化的功能。我的梦想是推动公司朝那个方向发展。”

不过,生存始终是首位的。“目前,我们需要开展能挣钱的生意,以支撑自己走到那一步。”他说。起初,臻迪主要为制造业、汽车业和航空业的客户提供虚拟现实与可视化服务。2009年,郑卫锋创业时的合伙人是妻子王珈瑶。当时他还是一个计算机工程师(主要从事图形相关工作),后来成长为管理层;而他的妻子则是瑞士跨国能源公司里一位训练有素的电气工程师,先是在销售部门工作,之后进入了运营管理层。公司的英文名(PowerVision)巧妙涵盖了夫妻俩的专长。他们自高中起就相识,如今又都是公司的联席CEO。

无人机、机器人......未来已来随着客户的需求与日俱增,郑卫锋(EMBA 2013)与王珈瑶(EMBA 2015)的业务版图不断拓展。今天臻迪的研发中心遍布全球,包括多伦多、波士顿、法兰克福和澳大利亚,公司也正在与日本的机器人公司洽谈合作事宜。臻迪拥有多种型号的无人机设计专利、多项与智能电网操控相关的可视化系统专利,以及显示技术专利。公司还拥有飞行控制系统与荷载的大量软件著作权等。

臻迪的创新大多源于客户的“挑战”——客户对数据搜集与分析的要求日益复杂。“我们本来只想将可视化后的数据结果展示给客户看,但是他们认为这样还不够,他们想看到更多的分析。”郑卫锋说,“例如在电力行业,人们不仅想知道输电塔是否出现了问题,还想通过数据分析和可视化技术知道隐患在哪里,哪里有可能出现事故等。”

“我们开始做数据分析,后来升级为大数据分析。有个客户给了我们一些反馈,他想从最先进的传感器中获取信息来帮助他们做决定,这让我们开始思考如何利用机器人和无人机。”

臻迪的企业部服务于大企业客户,目前客户产品部正在筹备将于今年年底举行的一款无人机的全球发布会。最近公司还建成了一个基于移动互联网的平台Vizsky,郑卫锋说灵感是部分源于中欧战略学副教授陈威如的平台战略课程。

“Vizsky有点像优步(Uber),”郑卫锋说,“我们成立了一个众包平台,从全世界喜欢使用无人机和机器人拍摄照片和收集数据的人们那里获取可视化数据。然后,我们运用自己的Power4D云平台技术为客户将这些二维图像转化为三维。Vizsky平台能够提供数据收集/分析的解决方案,其效果比基于GIS(地理信息系统)数据的普通卫星要好十倍,而成本却只是后者的十分之一。”

郑卫锋将所有公司的成功都归于三个因素:战略、人和学习。“最重要的是选对战略,带领团队朝着正确的方向前进。”他说,“其次是找到合适的人,并放在合适的位置。第三点就是学习,我每天都必须学习。在过去两年,我在中欧学习了EMBA课程,现在又是2015中欧创业营的一员。这个集体中人才济济,许多人都是成功的创业者,我们可以共同学习。”

无人机、机器人......未来已来

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

王珈瑶对知识同样充满渴望,她在中欧EMBA的学习之旅才刚刚开始。“我们公司成立的时间不长,发展却非常迅速。在EMBA课程中,我想学习系统化的管理知识,以及人力资源和财务知识。”她说,“当我在瑞士公司工作时,我只专注于自己的领域。现在我有了自己的公司,就必须学习很多以前从来没有接触过的东西。这是很大的挑战。”

他们都认为,刚开始创业时,主要的瓶颈在于现金流与人才。“公司成长迅速,这为我们赢得了许多投资者的青睐,因此资金不再是我们发展的瓶颈。”郑卫锋说,“目前的重点是吸引合适的人加入我们,去掀起一场技术革命。”

也许,郑卫锋突破藩篱的热情和对未来的大胆猜想就是臻迪招揽人才的致胜法宝。

“我觉得创业者是一群孜孜不倦地追求变化和创新的人。他们需要整合大量资源——技术、人、资金,不一而足,”他说,“但是创业者最重要的一点是要能够改变一些东西,能够解决市场上用户的不同需求和痛点,这对于创业成功至关重要。”

• TheLINK on WeChat

    Look what you’ve been missing!

    569
  • CEIBS Alumni

    Join the largest, most influential b-school network in China: over 20,000 business leaders, and growing.

     

    569

Drones, Robots¡­The Future is Already Here

Volume 3, 2015

By Janine Coughlin

Wally Zheng dreams big. The future, he says, will be about the robot. “The most important difference today between humans and animals is that humans can invent tools,” he explains. “Trains, airplanes – they extended our legs. Then we invented digging machines, a lot of machines, they extended our arms. We invented binoculars and extended our eyes. The computer is a big extension for the brain. The robot is the total solution. It combines the arm, the leg, your eyes, it brings everything together. We want to build the robot’s brain, its operating system. I think in the next 50 years that will be the next big thing.” 

Zheng’s strategy for his Beijing-based company, PowerVision Technology, seems partly inspired by science fiction writer Isaac Asimov. “We think that deep learning, machine learning and artificial intelligence will be the future,” says Zheng. “In the far future, my target is for us to be a robot and artificial intelligence company. The robot of the future will likely not be what we commonly imagine it will look like, one with a human shape.  It will be more like a computer centre with very strong computing power, deep learning, machine learning. My dream is to make the company go in that direction.”

But first things first. “Today we need to find a business that earns money to support us in doing that,” he says. PowerVision was initially in the business of preparing virtual reality and visual simulations, mainly for clients in the manufacturing, automotive, and aerospace industries. Zheng founded the company together with his wife, Lydia Wang, in 2009. At the beginning of his career he was a computer graphics specialist and then became a sales director. A trained electrical engineer, she worked for a Swiss multinational in the power industry, first in technical sales and later in operations management. The company name combines their two specialties. The pair has known each other since high school and share the CEO title.

Cover Story, Volume 3, 2015As their clients’ needs grew, Zheng (EMBA 2013) and Wang (EMBA 2015) expanded the scope of PowerVision’s activities. Today it has R&D centres around the world, including Toronto, Boston, Frankfurt and Australia, and it is talking with a Japanese robotics company about opportunities to work together. The company owns design patents on several types of Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs) – commonly known as drones – as well as visualisation system patents related to smart grid monitoring and operation, along with display technology patents. It also owns a number of software copyrights for flight control systems and payloads.

PowerVision’s innovation has largely been driven by the challenges of its clients, whose needs for data collection and analysis have become increasingly complex. “We were trying to just show customers the results, but they were saying that wasn’t good enough. They wanted more analysis,” Zheng says. “For example in the power industry they don’t just want to know the transmission tower has a problem, they want to predict where it is.

“We started to do data analysis, and from there we moved to big data analysis. A customer gave us some feedback about needing information from the most advanced sensors to help them with their decision making, that made us start thinking about how to use the robot and the UAV.”

The company’s enterprise division services the needs of big corporate clients, while its consumer products division is currently focused on the global release of a drone (UAV) which it expects will happen by the end of this year. The company has also recently launched a mobile platform, Vizsky, which Zheng says was inspired in part by concepts that he learned in CEIBS Associate Professor of Strategy Chen Weiru’s Platform Strategy course. 

“Vizsky is kind of like Uber,” Zheng explains. “We built a crowd-sourcing platform that collects visual data from people around the world who like to use their UAVs and robots to take photos and collect data. We then use our technology to transform these images from 2D to 3D for our customers. Our Vizsky platform can offer data collection/analysis solutions with results that are ten times better than the normal satellite based GIS data and one tenth of the cost.”

Cover Story, Volume 3, 2015Zheng attributes the success of the company to three things: Strategy, People and Learning. “The most important thing is to have the correct strategy, to lead the team in the right direction,” he explains. “The second is to find the right people and put them in the right position. The third is learning. I have to learn every day. I’ve been enrolled in CEIBS’ EMBA programme for the past two years, and now I am in the 2015 China Entrepreneurial Leadership Camp at CEIBS. There are a lot of successful entrepreneurs in the group and we can learn together.”

Wang is also hungry for knowledge and has just begun her own CEIBS EMBA journey. “We only launched our company a short time ago and we have developed very fast. I want to learn about systematic management, HR and finance in the EMBA programme,” she says. “When I worked for the Swiss company I was just focused on my work. Now that I have my own business, I have to learn a lot that I never had to deal with before. This is a very big challenge.”

When they first got started, Zheng and Wang said, their two main bottlenecks were cash flow and talent. “Because of our fast growth a lot of investors want to invest in us, so that is no longer the first priority,” Zheng says. “Today the first priority is attracting the right people to join us in creating a technological revolution.”

Zheng’s enthusiasm for pushing the boundaries and his vivid imagination about the possibilities of the future seem like they are probably the company’s best tool for recruiting talent.
“I think entrepreneurs are the kind of people who really want to change something, do something new. They have to combine a lot of resources – technology, people, money, a lot of things,” Zheng says. “But the most important aspect of an entrepreneur is to be able to change something. If you are relieving some of the pain points in the market, that's the most important thing for being a successful entrepreneur.”