• TheLINK微信杂志

    您不可不读的中欧校友杂志

    1235
  • 中欧校友

    迄今,学院已有遍布全球80多个国家的校友22,000多人

    1235

中欧国际工商学院:中欧交流的桥梁

2015年第四期

文/夏敏

8月28日,中欧校友、法国凯辉私募股权投资基金董事长蔡明泼宣布,他的公司将捐赠50万欧元在母校设立“凯辉全球私募股权研究基金”。与过去多年来的众多举措一样,此举彰显了中欧国际工商学院在中国与欧盟交往中的重要性。通过推动全球私募股权投资的创新研究,该研究基金将发挥深远影响。同时,该研究基金还将与凯辉中法创新基金互为补充;后者是一种专注于法国、中国和美国的新型跨境投资工具,致力于为创新型创业提供风险投资,将在18个互联网相关项目上投资2500万欧元。

自1994年中欧国际工商学院成立以来,很多像凯辉这样的校友企业已累计在欧洲投资了数十亿欧元,创造了成千上万个就业岗位。中欧中方院长李铭俊教授表示,“虽然中欧国际工商学院还是一所年轻的商学院,但在至关重要的中欧关系上,我们的校友已经发挥并将继续发挥重要作用。他们的成就让我们确信学院的影响力。”学院有近200位校友在欧洲工作,其中约88%处于管理层,其他人像蔡明泼校友一样经营着自己的公司。同时,还有100多位欧洲校友在中国工作;其中一些人获得了中欧商务管理培训(BMT)项目奖学金的资助,在学成后选择留在了中国。

2007年,中欧国际工商学院与三家学术伙伴——欧洲管理发展基金会(EFMD)、法兰克福金融与管理学院(FS)和西班牙IESE商学院合作,竞标获得了价值1010万欧元的中欧商务管理培训项目。中欧欧方院长佩德罗·雷诺(Pedro Nueno)教授表示,“1984年,中欧管理中心(CEMI,中欧国际工商学院的前身)的成立旨在提供当时中国亟需的管理教育。当时班级里都是中国学生,欧盟为很多学生提供了奖学金。而随着中欧关系的发展,中欧商务管理培训项目也应运而生。”

中欧商务管理培训项目的目标是:提供企业发展所需的教育基础,推动中国经济社会改革进程。此举最终有助于中欧经济体之间巩固持久的关系,并造福双方。毕竟,共同发展符合双方的利益。根据欧盟数据,2014年,中国与欧盟双边贸易额达4675亿欧元,较2013年增长9.1%;欧盟自中国进口额达3025亿欧元,对中国出口额为1650亿欧元,是中国最大的贸易伙伴,占中国对外贸易额的14%。同时,中国也是欧盟第二大贸易伙伴,仅次于美国。

中欧国际工商学院:中欧交流的桥梁

因此,无怪乎中国与欧盟经常为增进关系而进行探讨。事实上,双方就共同关注的外交政策、安全与防务、信息技术、高科技、创新和人员交流等问题已进行了数十场中高层对话,并成立了许多工作组和指导委员会。上述议题在《中欧合作2020战略规划》(以下简称“规划”)中也有体现;《规划》制定了未来五年中欧关系的发展框架,包括文化、教育等诸多方面。在推动《规划》实现的过程中,中欧国际工商学院发挥了应有的贡献。学院“欧盟日”活动内容丰富,既有求真启智的演讲,也有增进交流的品酒会。此外,2008-2012年,中欧商务管理培训项目为中国和欧洲的MBA学生提供了100多个交流奖学金名额;为中国内地学生提供了60多个中欧MBA录取名额;并为400位来自中国西部、中部和东北部的中层管理人员提供了现代商务管理培训。

除了为来自中国和欧盟的学员提供奖学金、在中国提供并拓宽商务管理培训,中欧商务管理培训项目的内容还包括增进学界与企业之间的互动、提升欧盟在中国的曝光度。从中欧教授的研究,到中欧各校区所举办的论坛,这些都有所体现(详见《走近欧盟》)。

中欧副院长兼教务长丁远教授表示,“多年来,关于中国与欧盟之间的稳固关系,以及中欧国际工商学院在增进这种关系的过程中所发挥的作用,有很多种表达形式。而在创造和传播有关中国与欧盟的知识方面,中欧教授功不可没。”在为期四年的中欧商务管理培训项目中,中欧教授撰写了逾16篇研究论文,他们还指导学生完成了60多篇与中国、欧盟相关的论文。学院教授的名字也经常见诸有关中国与欧盟的媒体报道中,他们对一些公众话题的舆论产生了影响,包括在华经商、欧洲滞胀,等等(详见《媒体综览》)。中欧国际工商学院也已成为全球领先高管的会议场所和平台——不少中欧国际顾问委员会(IAB)成员来自欧洲或中国,他们每年在中欧校园相聚一次,谈论全球经济形势,就战略问题向院领导建言献策,相互之间也进行有益的交流。

成立仅21年,中欧国际工商学院已成为中欧关系的代名词。访问位于中国政治之都的北京校园,以及位于经济之都的上海校园,通常都列入欧洲来华访问官员的行程之中。回顾中欧历史,我们发现中国政府高级官员也曾多次莅临中欧(详见《追忆光辉岁月》)。中欧的价值,显然从未被那些了解中国与欧盟关系重要性的人们忽视。在若泽·曼努埃尔·巴罗佐(José Manuel Barosso)担任欧盟委员会主席时,他将中欧国际工商学院描述为“中欧合作的一个非常成功的典范”;中国前总理温家宝也曾称赞,“中欧国际工商学院已成为众多优秀管理人士的摇篮。”

中欧国际工商学院社群深知自己的使命。

正如中欧副院长兼中方教务长张维炯教授所说的,“目前,中欧国际工商学院的挑战是:在过去21年中所建立的牢固基础之上,继续促进未来40年中国与欧盟关系的发展。整个中欧社群都期待着去迎接这一挑战。”

中欧国际工商学院:中欧交流的桥梁

 

蔡明泼(EMBA 2004,CEO 2009)
凯辉私募股权投资基金董事长

中欧国际工商学院:中欧交流的桥梁中国与欧盟的关系已迈入历史最佳时期,且充满机遇。尽管GDP增长放缓,但中国的发展故事才刚刚开始,依然有着光明的前景。GDP增速放缓是成熟的标志:必须先放慢速度,才能实现重大改革。如果减速能够带来更多的和谐、环保,减少对低成本出口的依赖,那么数量上的减缓可能意味着质量上的提高。

中国正走出“世界工厂”模式,成为一个远不止于提供低成本产品的完整市场。中国已成为很多欧洲企业的主要枢纽,但仍潜力可观,尤其是在日用消费品、服务、健康、清洁技术等领域。

移动互联网的发展带来了新的用途和需求,中国消费者的崛起为创新提供了一个良性生态系统。创新对经济和商业模式影响巨大。而凯辉的愿景是,让企业与欧洲、亚洲和美国的核心网络相连接,以加快国际业务发展。中欧国际工商学院一直以来都向如我这样的创业者和将会影响中欧关系的新一代商业领袖提供管理教育。创新是凯辉的关注点,我们很高兴与中欧国际工商学院在新近发起的凯辉全球私募股权研究基金以及更多项目上进行合作。

 

中欧国际工商学院:中欧交流的桥梁

 

朱海(EMBA 2001)
施耐德电气全球执行副总裁兼中国区总裁

在中欧国际工商学院学习的那段时光,对于我来说是一段特别值得怀念的日子。这里独有的中西文化交融的氛围,让我获益匪浅。在这里,我领略到了欧洲率直、创新的思维方式,也加深了对中华文化深沉、包容等特色的理解。这种中西合璧的教学方式,给我之后的职业生涯提供了许多帮助,让我能以国际化的视野高屋建瓴地去审视、去管理一家企业。

而我工作的施耐德电气,恰好是一家源于法国、植根中国近30年的欧洲企业。它是本土化最成功的外企之一,也是中国和欧洲企业文化融合的一个典范。

当然,我认为这并不是什么巧合,而是一种必然。从我个人的经验以及施耐德电气的成功可以看出,中国和欧洲的文化之间,有着奇妙的化学效应。当两者结合在一起时,可以迸发出巨大的能量。

由此可见,中国和欧洲两个文化圈之间,既有“同”,也有“异”。“同”使我们融洽无碍,“异”赋予我们新鲜的活力和激情,要知道,在两千年前,两个文化圈之间的第一次碰撞,产生的是人类交往史上的千古奇观——丝绸之路。在两千年后,中国和欧洲之间的交往更加密切,甚于当年何止千倍。我们有充足的理由相信,中欧之间的交往,必将诞生新的更大的辉煌。

我很荣幸能够和我的母校一起,共同庆祝中欧建交40周年,见证这一奇迹的新里程碑。

 

 

纪尧姆·德·科隆思(Guillaume de Colonges, GCPT14)
家乐福波兰公司首席执行官

中欧国际工商学院:中欧交流的桥梁就像所有共同走过40年的关系一样,欧洲与中国既经历过美好、分享过价值,也面对过困难和分歧。反思过去的40年,有助于我们思考未来应该如何把握中欧关系。

中国与欧洲之间的经济纽带只会更加紧密,中国制造会继续输往欧洲,欧洲奢侈品也会继续销往中国。然而,这几十年的交往中还有很多有待开拓的空间,今天严峻的经济形势将我们带向了一种零和游戏。展望未来,这种伙伴关系唯一的重大挑战,就是双方的信任与信誉。欧洲需要视中国为伙伴,以及未来经济增长的潜在引擎。同时,中国需要提升其机构公信力,确保欧洲乃至世界上的公司都能够在中国被平等对待,不歧视外国对手,且中国经济政策长期稳定。

在国际外交史上,40年也只是短暂的时光,双方仍处于建立信任的阶段。如果在未来的50年到100年,信任能够建立,我们将看到彼此的增长和繁荣。未来,为了促进中欧关系发展,中欧国际工商学院和校友们可以在以下方面做出贡献,包括:学术交流和知识分享、中国与欧洲商业高管之间增进联系、提供对话和沟通的平台等。这将有助于彼此间建立理解和信任,我期待看到未来的发展。

 

中欧国际工商学院:中欧交流的桥梁罗飞(EMBA 2006)
合生元国际控股有限公司董事长兼首席执行官

自2000年开始,合生元与法国企业建立合作关系,发展迄今已有15年历史。将法国优质的婴幼儿奶粉带给中国人民一直是我们的愿景之一。2013年,合生元投资了法国乳企ISM,之所以做出此举,首先是因为看重当地优质的自然资源——诺曼底AOP奶源区,其次是法国乳企先进的加工技术。未来我们希望继续探索“资源+技术”这一投资模式的发展空间,以期为更多有志于走向欧洲的中国企业带来启发。

作为中欧校友,我很荣幸曾在这所由上海市政府与欧盟出资成立的商学院中学习;也很荣幸合生元能够成为中欧中国企业全球化中心的合作伙伴,我们通过亲身实践为研究中心提供了一个中法并购的生动案例,也从中心的教授那里得到了建议与支持。未来,我们会与研究中心深入合作下去,并在实践中继续探索中国企业“走出去”战略,以期帮助更多“中国资本”和“欧洲资源”实现成功对接、互惠互利。

 

 

奥利弗·布伦斯(Oliver Bruns, MBA 2006)
Coveris Flexibles德国股份有限公司总裁
德国瓦尔堡

中欧国际工商学院:中欧交流的桥梁展望未来几十年中欧关系的发展,我期望看到更多的知识从中国传到欧盟。多年来,围绕着从欧洲传到中国的知识已经有了很多讨论。我深信,除了经济合作关系,欧盟还可以从很多方面获益,我们也将看到更多的知识从中国传到欧盟。

双方达成共识是建立商业和一般跨文化合作的前提。中国与欧盟之间巩固关系的关键就是在互信的基础上增进民间交流。在推动合作的过程中,中欧国际工商学院将一如既往地发挥重要作用。

然而,就像维持其他关系一样,维持合作并非易事。合作双方必须坦诚相待。显然,任何良好的关系都需要以共同的价值观作为坚实基础。在困难时期继续为建设中欧关系而努力,这是我们面对的挑战。而困难时期也会检验中欧关系是否足够牢固,是否超越单纯的经济合作关系。我真心希望答案是肯定的。

 

中欧国际工商学院:中欧交流的桥梁康斯坦丁诺斯·泽尔泽梅奇思
(Konstantinos Derdemezis, GCPT15)
泰坦水泥公司欧洲东南区执行总裁
希腊雅典

随着国际联系日益紧密,全世界都面临着一系列影响深远的严峻挑战。在这一背景下,两大主要国际事务参与者——欧盟与中国在多个前沿领域进一步深化交流、加强合作,促进全球和平繁荣与平衡发展,就显得至关重要。虽然过去40年中欧关系取得了长足进步,但仍面临着诸多威胁,包括气候变化、恐怖主义、人口结构改变、核武器与化学武器扩散、贸易壁垒、难解的可持续发展问题等。在实现中国、欧洲和世界其他区域共同发展的过程中,这些问题均有待解决。

在中欧关系中,贸易仍是主要驱动力,这意味着中欧关系的发展可聚焦于两方面:最大限度地为对方开放市场准入;解除现有的干扰货物、资金与服务流通的障碍。除了显而易见的经济互利之外,欧盟还可以挖掘中国日益成长的中产阶级的潜力;同时,来自中国的人力资本也可以极大地缓解欧洲人口老龄化问题。随着中国引入各种各样的社会体系(如社会保险、医疗等)的需求与日俱增,欧盟可以利用自身的学习曲线、历史经验和现有实践为中国提供建议与支持,也可以在中国的城市化进程以及一系列相关挑战中提供帮助。

为了完成上述命题,中欧双方的商业领袖都必须认识到增进交流和把握未来合作机遇的重要性。过去20多年,中欧国际工商学院在此方面发挥了重要作用,未来十年她的角色会越来越重要。

 

西蒙·利希滕贝格(Simon Lichtenberg, SEPC)
特雷通集团西蒙李家具公司首席执行官  
中国上海

中欧国际工商学院:中欧交流的桥梁今天的欧洲正在面临难民潮与经济动荡的威胁,而中国正在面临经济增长放缓、人民币调整和股市跌宕的挑战。

同时,整个世界都在面临一项严峻任务:在接下来数十年内,遏止全球变暖——希望各洲、各国乃至每个人都能够精诚合作。

欧盟各国并不能在所有政治问题上保持团结,而欧盟与中国在合作大方向上是一致的,双方过去有着合作经验。中国和欧盟的合作能引导世界变得更加美好,会带来更多负责任的企业,也会孕育出国家之间跨洲合作的新型生产方式。我们生活在同一个世界,唯有同舟共济,方能改变世界,中国与欧盟各国政府都明白这个道理。这不仅是中国与欧盟的职责所在;个人也要积极参与其中,在现实中探寻解决之道。中欧国际工商学院是双方共同的桥梁,也应发挥其职责:向中国和欧盟商业高管提供中国知识和管理教育,产生足以改变他们人生的影响力。

 

 

中欧国际工商学院:中欧交流的桥梁

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

托尔斯滕·泽格(Thorsten Seeger,MBA 2005)
劳埃德银行集团中小企业-金融市场主管
英国伦敦

我们走过了漫漫长路,中欧关系在过去40年得到了长足发展。

我预计在未来40年,这一关系会更为紧密。欧盟已是中国最大的贸易伙伴,直接投资与旅游业呈逐年上升态势。彼此身上还有很多值得学习的东西,因此,我们应该以这次周年庆为契机,促进未来更深入、更富挑战性的双边对话。

就个人而言,我为中国将向欧盟打开的机遇而欣喜不已。我期待在下一个40年,能与中国的朋友和潜在的商业伙伴有许多愉快的合作。中欧国际工商学院在中欧关系发展过程中扮演着重要角色,我期待看到学院未来有更多建树。

• TheLINK on WeChat

    Look what you’ve been missing!

    569
  • CEIBS Alumni

    Join the largest, most influential b-school network in China: over 19,000 business leaders, and growing.

     

    569

CEIBS, The EU & China

Volume 4, 2015

By Charmaine N Clarke

On August 28, CEIBS alumnus and President of Cathay Capital Private Equity Cai Mingpo announced that his company will donate €500,000 to establish the Cathay Global PE Research Fund at CEIBS. It was the latest in a series of initiatives, over the years, that have underscored CEIBS’ importance in Sino-European ties. By promoting the study of global private equity investment, along with the innovations taking place, the fund will have far reaching implications. It will also complement Cathay Capital’s Sino French Innovation Fund, a new cross-border investment vehicle dedicated to venture capital financing for innovative start-ups. Focused on activities in France, China and the United States, the innovation fund will invest up to €25 million in about 18 Internet related projects.

Cai’s company is just one of the many CEIBS alumni ventures that have invested billions of euro and created thousands of jobs in Europe since the school’s launch in 1994. “Though CEIBS is still a young business school, the impact that our alumni have had, and continue to have, on the vital Sino-European relationship is impressive,” says CEIBS Chinese President Professor Li Mingjun. “Their accomplishments reassure us that we are making a difference.” Of the almost 200 CEIBS alumni working in Europe, about 88% are at management level while the rest – like Cai – are running their own businesses. Meanwhile, there are more than 100 European alumni working in China. Some of them stayed after studies funded by scholarships such as those provided under the EU-China BMT Project.

Working in collaboration with three other academic partners – European Foundation for Management Development (EFMD), Frankfurt School of Finance and Management (FS), and IESE School of Business – CEIBS won the bid for the €10.1 million BMT Project in 2007. “In 1984, when CEIBS’ predecessor CEMI was set up to provide much needed management education in China, the EU provided scholarships for many of the students in its all-Chinese class,” says CEIBS European President Professor Pedro Nueno. “The BMT project was a natural progression in the Sino-European relationship.”

The BMT’s goal: to provide the educational base needed to support business in facilitating China’s social and economic reform, a move that would ultimately create lasting relationships between the Chinese and European economies and benefit both sides. It is, after all, in the interest of both parties to see the other do well. According to EU data, EU-China bilateral trade in goods reached €467.5 billion in 2014, up from €428.1 billion in 2013. EU imports from China were worth €302.5 billion, while EU exports to China reached €165 billion. The EU is China’s biggest trading partner, accounting for 14% of China’s external trade. Meanwhile China is the EU’s second biggest trading partner, after the US.

It is no surprise, then, that both sides have regular discussions aimed at strengthening their relationship. In fact, there are more than 60 high level and senior level dialogues, working groups and steering committees that focus on issues such as foreign policy, security and defence, cyber, high tech, innovation, and people-to-people exchanges. The latter is also a component of the EU-China 2020 Agenda for Cooperation which lays out the framework for relations between both sides over the next five years. It covers everything from cultural to educational initiatives and CEIBS has done its fair share in advancing this agenda. The school’s EU Days have served up everything from thought-provoking lectures to wine tastings. Meanwhile, the BMT Project provided more than 100 exchange scholarships for MBA students across Europe and China between 2008 and 2012. It also made it possible for another 60+ students from China’s inner regions to enrol in the CEIBS MBA, and provided modern business management training to more than 400 mid-level professionals from the Western, Central and North-Eastern regions of China.

In addition to scholarships for participants from both sides, plus developing and providing business management training in China, other aspects of the BMT included strengthening academic and corporate interactions as well as boosting the EU’s visibility in China. This included everything from research by CEIBS faculty to forums hosted on its campuses (see “Boosting EU Visibility in China”).

“Over the years, there have been many other tangible expressions of the strong ties between China and the EU and the role that CEIBS has played in strengthening those bonds. CEIBS faculty, for example, have played a significant role in creating and disseminating knowledge on Sino-European issues,” says CEIBS Vice President and Dean Professor Ding Yuan. Under the four-year-long BMT Project alone, more than 16 research papers were written by faculty who also supervised more than 60 EU-China related research papers by students. Over the years, CEIBS faculty have also been frequently quoted in the media on European and/or China-EU issues. As a result, they have helped shape public debate on topics ranging from doing business in China to stagflation in Europe (see section called “In the Media”). At the same time, CEIBS has also been a meeting place and platform for leading global executives – many of them from Europe and China – who, as part of the school’s International Advisory Board (IAB) meet annually to advise school leaders on strategic issues. IAB meetings are invariably shaped by global economic affairs and these gatherings provide an opportunity for some of the world’s best business minds to frankly share their views.

Only 21 years old, CEIBS has become synonymous with the EU-China relationship. A stop at its campuses in China’s economic and political capitals – Shanghai and Beijing – is often on the agenda of visiting European officials. A look back at the school’s history also shows numerous visits by high-ranking Chinese government officials (see related story “Remember When…”). CEIBS’ value is obviously not lost on those who recognise the importance of the Sino-European relationship. During his term as European Commission President, Manuel Barosso described CEIBS as “a very successful symbol of cooperation between the EU and China”. In 2008, speaking at the EU-China Business Summit, then Chinese Premier Wen Jiabao ended his speech by saying, “China will continue to cooperate with the European Union in the areas of education and science. Our previous agreements have led to obvious, positive results. The China Europe International Business School is an example of this. CEIBS has become an incubator for excellent business leaders.”

The CEIBS community knows a lot is expected of it.

“The challenge now is for CEIBS to build on the solid foundation it has laid over the last 21 years in order to remain relevant in shaping the next 40 decades of EU-China ties. It is a challenge that the entire CEIBS community eagerly accepts,” says CEIBS Vice President & Co-Dean Professor Zhang Weijiong.

 

 

Cai Mingpo (EMBA 2004, CEO 2009)
President of Cathay Capital Private Equity

The China-EU relationship has never been more promising and full of opportunities. Despite the lower GDP growth environment, the China development story is still in its early years and promising. The slowdown of GDP growth is a sign of maturity: you have to slow down before taking a major turn. A weaker quantitative growth can be a stronger qualitative one if it is more harmonious, more respectful of the environment and less dependent on low cost exports.

China is coming out of its “factory of the world” model to become a full market offering much more than low production costs. It is already a major hub for many European companies but the potential is still considerable, especially in areas such as consumer goods, services, healthcare, clean tech, etc.

The rise of Chinese consumers also creates a favourable ecosystem for innovation with the emergence of new uses and needs through the mobile internet revolution. Innovation has a huge impact on economies and business models, and our vision at Cathay is that companies need to connect to the key networks in Europe, Asia and the United States in order to accelerate their international growth. With our focus on innovation, we are pleased to collaborate with CEIBS on projects such as the recently-launched Cathay Global PE Research Fund as the school continues to provide management education to business executives such as myself and the next generation of business leaders who will help shape the China-EU relationship.

Zhu Hai (EMBA 2001)
President of Schneider Electric China and Schneider Electric Global Executive Vice President

The time I spent studying at CEIBS is particularly memorable. I treasured the atmosphere there, which was an integration of East and Western cultures. It was at the school that I learned that frankness and innovation were important aspects of the European approach. I also deepened my understanding of Chinese culture, especially its characteristic depth and tolerance. My career was greatly enhanced by the lessons taught through a combination of East and Western elements, which gave me an international perspective and the sophistication to lead an enterprise.

My company Schneider Electric is a European enterprise which originated in France and has been rooted in China for almost 30 years. It is one of the foreign companies with the greatest achievements in localising for the Chinese market, and is a paradigm of the blend between Chinese and European corporate cultures.

From my personal experience, and the success of Schneider Electric, I can tell there’s marvellous synergy between Chinese and European cultures. Once the two cultures are combined, immense power can be unleashed.

After two thousand years, the exchanges between China and Europe have grown stronger, tens of times more than that in ancient times. We are fully convinced that the exchanges between China and Europe would give birth to even more splendour in the years ahead.

I am honoured to celebrate the 40th Anniversary of China-Europe ties together with my alma mater, and witness a brand new milestone of this miracle.

 

Guillaume de Colonges (GCPT14)
CEO, Carrefour, Turkey

Like all relationships that span four decades, the one between the EU and China has seen good times and there have been shared values, accompanied by difficult times and severe differences. Reflecting on the last 4 decades brings us to think about what the future holds for this union.

The economic ties between China and Europe will only get stronger, whether in terms of Chinese-made products coming to Europe, or European luxury goods purchased by Chinese consumers. However, while there was plenty of room for expansion over the last few decades, today’s difficult economic situation has brought us closer to a zero-sum game. The single biggest challenge for this partnership, going forward, is trust and credibility on both sides. Europeans need to see China as a partner and a potential engine for economic growth in the coming years. At the same time, the Chinese need to enhance their institutional credibility, assuring Europe (and the world) that all companies will be treated equally in China, there will be no discrimination against foreign players and that China will not engage in short-term economic policies.

Forty years is a short time in international diplomacy and both sides are still in the phase of building trust. If this is done within the next 5-10 years, we will be looking at a period of mutual growth and prosperity for both sides. There is a lot that can done by CEIBS and its alumni, in the years ahead, to foster the EU China relationship: academic exchange and the sharing of knowledge, the strengthening of networks between business executives on both sides, and providing a platform for continued dialogue and debate. These will all help to build mutual understanding and trust. I am eager to see what comes next.

 

Luo Fei (EMBA 2006)
Chairman and CEO of BIOSTIME International Holdings Co Ltd

As a CEIBS alumnus, I am honoured to have studied at a business school established with investments from China and the EU. We’re also honoured that BIOSTIME is now a corporate partner for CEIBS Centre for Globalisation of Chinese Companies. We provide a vivid case of China-French acquisition for the research centre, and we receive advice and support from the centre’s faculty. In the future we will deepen our collaboration with the research centre, and continue to explore the “going global” strategies for Chinese companies through our initiatives. We hope to be able to help more of “China’s capital” and “Europe’s resource” successfully combine and profit.

Since its inception in 2000, BIOSTIME has collaborated with French companies. It’s one of our visions to bring premium French baby milk powder to the Chinese people. In 2013, BIOSTIME invested in the French milk company ISM. We did this because we value the prime local resource, Normandy AOP milk source, and because of the advanced milk processing techniques of the French company. In the future we’d like to look further into the development potential of the investment model of “resource + technology”, in order to inspire more Chinese companies that wish to go into Europe.

 

Oliver Bruns (MBA 2006)
Managing Director
Coveris Flexibles Deutschland GMBH
Warburg, Germany

When I look at the next decades of the China-EU relationship, I would expect a significant increase in knowledge transfer from China towards the EU. Over the years, a lot of the discussion has been around bringing knowledge from the EU to China. I’m truly convinced, though, that the EU can benefit from a lot more than just economic ties and that we will see a lot more knowledge from China coming into the EU.

Business, as well as general cross-cultural cooperation, starts with establishing a common understanding for each other. Connecting people, establishing relationships based on mutual trust is key to further strengthening the relationship between China and the EU. Institutions such as CEIBS are and will continue to be of increasing importance in establishing strong connections.

However, maintaining cooperation is, like any relationship, hard work. Both sides have to demonstrate that they want it. And obviously, any good relationship needs to have a strong base of mutual values. The challenge will be to keep on working on the China-EU relationship when times are difficult. Especially tough times will show if the China-EU relationship is strong enough to be more than just economic ties. I truly hope it is.

 

Konstantinos Derdemezis (GCPT15)
South East Europe Executive Regional Director
Titan Cement Company SA
Athens, Greece

In an increasingly interconnected international landscape faced with a series of acute and impactful global challenges, it is of extreme importance that two of the main global actors, the EU and China, further deepen their relationship and strengthen cooperation on multiple fronts with the aim to promote peace, prosperity and balanced growth.  In spite of the progress made over the last 40 years, grave multi-faceted risks such as climate change, terrorism, changing demographics, proliferation of nuclear and chemical weapons, obstacles to trade and elusive sustainable development need to be further addressed in pursuit of common development of China, the EU and the rest of the world.

With trade remaining the primary driver of China-EU relations, stronger emphasis could be placed on facilitating maximum access to each other’s markets and lifting existing barriers which hinder movement of goods, capital and services. Apart from the obvious mutual economic benefits, the EU will be able to additionally tap into the potential of China’s growing middle class while at the same time human capital from China may play a decisive role in mitigating the phenomenon of Europe’s aging population. Leveraging on its learning curve, accumulated experiences and already applied practices, the EU could transfer know-how and support in helping China deal with the intensifying need for introducing all-inclusive social systems (e.g. social insurance, healthcare, etc.) as well as with the Asian country’s increasing urbanisation and the range of associated challenges.

To complement these initiatives, both sides will need business leaders who recognise the significance of EU-China ties as well as the potential opportunities and synergies that are ahead. For more than two decades, CEIBS has played an important role in that regard. It will be a role that is increasingly important in the decades to come.

Simon Lichtenberg (SEPC)
CEO Trayton Group/Simon Li Furniture
Shanghai

Today’s Europe is challenged by an influx of refugees and economic volatility. China is challenged by a slowdown in growth and adjustment of the RMB, and its roller coaster stock market.

Meanwhile the entire world has a huge challenge over the coming decades to stop global warming – and hopefully work together across continents, nations and people.

While the European Union is not united in all political issues, along the broad lines Europe can work in a concerted way, together with China. They have done so in the past. Together they can lead the world into a better environment, one with more responsible business, and where new productive ways of cross continent collaboration among states will be invented between China and Europe. We all live in the same world – we are in the same boat – and the Chinese and European governments understand that only together can we change the world. It is the EU and China’s responsibility to act; it is also up to us, as individuas, to take an active part in delivering practical solutions. CEIBS, a common bridge between both sides, will be relied on to play its role as well: providing China-specific knowledge and training business executives who can help both China and the EU make the changes needed that will impact all our lives.

 

Thorsten Seeger (MBA 2005)
Head of SME - Financial Markets
Lloyds Banking Group
London

We have come a long way; the relationship between China and Europe has become stronger over the past 40 years.

I anticipate that in the next four decades it will be even stronger. The EU is already China’s biggest trading partner and the amount of direct investment and tourism is ever increasing. At the same time, there is still a lot we can learn from each other and we should use this anniversary as an opportunity to have deeper – and also more challenging – conversations with each other.

Personally I am excited about the opportunity that China will present to the EU, and I am looking forward to many happy interactions with friends and potential business partners in China over the next 40 years. I am also looking forward to seeing how CEIBS will build on the tremendous role it has already played in supporting the EU-China relationship.